My Favorite Reads This Year

I love hearing about what books others loved, so I figured a fun way to close out this year would be to share some of the books I loved reading this year. Note that this is not a list of books that came out this year, but a list of books I read this year.  As you’ll see, I’m a little late to the party on some of these.

I decided to break my list up by category, because apples and oranges. I read a lot of young adult fantasy this year, and I enjoyed tearing through a few series from beginning to end, which was kind of a new experience for me and a bonus to missing out on some of these books when everyone else first discovered them. I plan to finish out this week with a few Christmas romances before I start thinking about what I want to read next year.

Favorite Reads of 2014

Middle GradeBreadcrumbs by Anne Ursu and Doll Bones by Holly Black

I really love Anne’s writing, and I’m always a sucker for retellings and stories inspired by fairy tales and classic stories. Holly Black is always amazing, but I especially loved how Doll Bones had equal amounts of creepiness and heart. My daughter and I both enjoyed this one.

Young Adult We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

This was one of those books that made me want to burn all of my own manuscripts, because why bother. Amazing. I cried ugly tears at the end.

YA Fantasy – The Grisha series (Leigh Bardugo), The Queen’s Thief series (Megan Whalen Turner), and The Graceling Realm series (Kristin Cashore)

Yes, I’m cheating. I told you I read a lot of YA fantasy, and I felt it needed its own list. And I’m kind of cheating because this includes ten books. Yes, I’m recommending all ten. Deal with it. Read them all.

New Adult – Anywhere by Jinsey Reese

This was my first experience with new adult books. Anywhere is a sweet romance, filled with heart and promise, and I’m looking forward to reading more like it next year.

AdultMajor Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson and The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

Both of these were book club selections, and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Pettigrew. It isn’t something I would normally read, but I loved it. And I can’t say enough good things about The Language of Flowers. I love a tortured MC, and this girl’s choices, while completely believable, broke my heart repeatedly. I haven’t pulled so much for a character’s happiness in a long time.

 

I read a lot of other great books this year, but these were the ones I remembered standing out.

I’d love to hear what your favorite reads were this year! Let me know in the comments if you want to share. 🙂

One thought on “My Favorite Reads This Year

  1. i am terrible at remembering what i read and i have completely fallen off the goodreads wagon so i can’t even check myself there! but i loved “life after life” by kate atkinson (fiction) and paul theroux’s book “dark safari” (nonfiction, travel). i am a big fan of both writers.

Leave a Reply

