April Camp Time!

How did I deal with an emotionally draining March and the anxiety of a new month of events, obligations, and triggering time bombs on the horizon?

I packed my bags and found a cabin. That’s right, folks . . .

It’s April Camp NaNoWriMo time!!!

Camp-Participant-2015-Twitter-Profile

I know, I know, I know. Why would I want to add MORE to my plate next month? That’s an easy answer. Because I’m going to write anyway. Might as well do it with a little company! And the great thing about the camp events are that you set your own goals. It doesn’t have to be a draft in a month or 50k wds. I spent March completely rewriting the first act of my November ’14 NaNoWriMo project. I would like to get through a huge chunk of the middle in April, and hopefully finish the rewrite in May. Once I looked at my April calendar (and cried a little . . . ok, a lot), I realized that might not happen. And that will be ok, too. I’ll get through as much as I can. I’m shooting for at least 25k wds in April. Piece of cake in a normal month. But April . . . ugh.

But here’s the thing: I need this. While it might seem like I’m adding more stress to an already stressful time period, remember that writing is also a lifeline for me. Tough day? Too bad, I still have to write two pages (or whatever my goal might be). One foot in front of the other. That’s how I get through a draft, and that’s how I’ll get through next month, with this rewrite to cling to for comfort and safety.

Good luck to all of the other campers out there!

 

Leave a Reply

