2015 Year in Books (and my favs!)

This was the first year I set a Goodreads challenge for myself, and I’m so glad I did. I was already planning to average a book a week (not counting all the lovely novels I was able to beta read this year), but one of the great things about Goodreads is getting that year in books rundown. Seeing all of those gorgeous covers scroll down the screen is such a treat!

It was also good for me to see the list now, because I’m making my TBR list for next year and thinking oh my gosh do I really only read YA fantasy? I mean, it’s my favorite category and genre right now, but it was nice to see that I did read some great stuff outside of that, too.

So, in no particular order, here are my top five favorite books I read in 2015:

  • Six of Crows, by Leigh Bardugo  – I will read anything Leigh Bardugo scribbles on a napkin. I don’t normally dig heist books, but I love every single one of these characters. Bardugo knows exactly how to twist the knife. Ouch.
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas – I didn’t expect to love ACOTAR as much as I did, because I don’t generally fall hard for fairytale retellings, and I didn’t love her other series as much as the rest of the world seems to, but oh my word! It is dark and lovely and everything I want. More Lucien, please. Gimme.
  • The Wrath and the Dawn, by Renée Ahdieh – This book was such a delicious surprise for me. I adore Shahrzad. Historical romance with a touch of magic. Gah. So freaking gorgeous.
  • The Young Elites, by Marie Lu – An underground society with magical gifts and a damaged girl struggling with the pull of her dark powers? Um, YES.
  • Station Eleven, by  Emily St. John Mandel – Station Eleven is not my normal jam, but it stuck with me for weeks after I read it. I’m waiting impatiently for my husband to get to it so we can discuss.

See what I mean about YA fantasy? I’m already reading the second Young Elites book, and I have the release dates for the Bardugo, Maas, and Ahdieh followup books marked down.

Some great books aren’t on there, because I went with the ones that gave me a gut punch or lingered in my brain or that I devoured quickly. The Girl on the Train could have made that list, because it was definitely a gut punch, but the ending failed for me. And Bone Gap was BEAUTIFUL. Seriously, go read it if you haven’t. But it didn’t speak to me personally the way those others did. And Wonder. I know I’m late to the Wonder party, but that’s another must-read if you haven’t. My 12yo and I read it at the same time, and we both loved it so much–a fun, heartwarming/heartbreaking, quick read–and she rarely ever reads contemporary anything.

I considered doing a list of books I’m looking forward to reading next year, but the list would be too long! So many new releases I want, but also lots of books I didn’t get to yet, like A Darker Shade of Magic, Shadowshaper, and Uprooted. But my list for next year is heavily fantasy-loaded. Soooooo . . . . I’ll turn it over to your suggestions.

Any non-fantasy books you think I should read? Something you read this year and loved? Laugh out loud funny, twisty surprises, gut wrenching heartache, or something that got in your brain and never let go?

 

Michelle is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
Leave a Reply

