Word for 2016: ~WILD~

Most years I pick a word or phrase for the months ahead. It serves as an anchor, a filter, a guidepost. In the past I’ve chosen words like letting go, balance, choose, courage, and (last year) center. Last year didn’t quite go the way I envisioned it, but I pulled out that word when I felt adrift. One of the things I did on my centering journey was to add yoga to my daily routine, which became one of the best things I did for myself last year.

The last week of 2015, I had no idea what word I would choose for this year. The word “magic” kept circling back, an aggressive sort of version of the word, as in I need to make some damn magic this year. But that sounded like . . . work. Work I had zero energy for.

I’ve been obsessing over listening to Hamilton a lot, so the idea of freedom was floating in my brain, and it morphed with that aggressive need to survive and thrive and the word “wild” started to take root, fueled by a craving to live wild and free. Not that anyone or anything is stopping me from that. I’m well aware I have only myself to blame for any sense of lack

Then, in one of our Yoga Boot Camp emails, a familiar quote appeared:

“Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?”
― Mary Oliver

A sign? A coincidence? Who knows. All I know is that I’ve always loved that quote, and it fits with the Hamilton idea of “not throwing away my shot.”

And as I look at all the definitions of the word (from merriam-webster), I want to fully embrace those as well:

  • living in a state of nature and not ordinarily tame or domesticated
  • not inhabited or cultivated
  • not subject to restraint or regulation
  • going beyond normal or conventional bounds
  • indicative of strong passion, desire, or emotion
  • deviating from the intended or expected course

Of course, there’s one other . . .

  • marked by turbulent agitation

. . . I should probably work on embodying a little less of that one. Maybe. *shrug*

So my word for 2016 is WILD. This year, I want to stretch and grow in unexpected ways. I want to make my own path. I want to live and create with strength, passion, and inhibition. I plan this year to make the most of my own wild and precious life.

One thought on “Word for 2016: ~WILD~

  1. Pingback: 2016 Writing Goals (endless revisions edition) | Michelle Hulse

Leave a Reply

